Unit 12 | Friends and relations

A. Complete using the words in the box.

close • confident • cool • divorced • generous • grateful • independent • loving • loyal • ordinary • patient • private • single

  1. Thanks for looking after my dog for the weekend. I’m really grateful.
  2. Judy is one of the most generous people I know. She’s always giving me presents!
  3. I don’t want a girlfriend. I like being single.
  4. It will take a while for Simon to forgive you. You’ll just have to be patient.
  5. Adam’s parents are divorced, so he only sees his dad at the weekend.
  6. Cats are more independent than dogs. They live their own lives and don’t need human company.
  7. I’m very loving to my best friend. I’d never talk about her behind her back.
  8. Sandy’s such a loyal dog. He’s always so happy to see us when we come home!
  9. I’m not a very confident person. I get nervous when I have to speak in public.
  10. My diary is private. No one is allowed to read it apart from me.
  11. I tell my sisters all my problems and secrets. I have a very close relationship.
  12. My uncle’s really cool ! He’s in a rock band!
  13. I’m just a/an ordinary person with a normal life — but I’m quite happy!

B. Complete using a word formed from the letters given.

  1. Don’t you think Ben and Angie make a lovely couple? L E O P U C
  2. How many guests are staying at the hotel at the moment? S E G U T S
  3. All our relations are coming to the weeding. S N O R E A L I T
  4. A stranger is just a friend you haven’t met yet! G R A N T E R S
  5. How long have you been going out with your boyfriend? D R I N F E Y O B
  6. Why are you in such a bad mood? O D O M
  7. My grandparents live in a really quiet neighbourhood O H I D R O U G H B O N E
  8. My cousin has just moved into a flat in the city centre. A T L F
  9. I’m going to the cinema with my girlfriend tonight. R E D G I N F L I R

C. Each of the words in bold is in the wrong sentence. Write the correct word.

  1. I was first respected to Jake at a party. …………
  2. I shouldn’t have rented you. Now I know you can’t keep a secret! ………
  3. Our house is being recognised so we’re staying with my grandparents at the moment. …………
  4. Everyone apologised Mr Turner because he was strict but fair. …………
  5. Have you introduced to Kelly for losing her CD? …………
  6. Sarah said I was a liar but Carol trusted me and said I wasn’t. …………
  7. We decorated a small house in the countryside for the summer. …………
  8. No one defended Phil when he came to the party dressed as an old man. …………

D. Circle the correct word.

  1. I thought I could trust you! You’ve really let me down.
  2. Do you get on well with your older sister?
  3. As children grow up, they want more independence from their parents.
  4. Dave has fallen out with Jason and they’re not talking to each other at the moment.
  5. Ed was brought up by his aunt because his parents lived abroad.
  6. I used to go out with Tony but we split off / up about a year ago.
  7. I hate looking after my baby brother!

E. Write one word in each gap.

You’ve always (1) …….. up your children to come to you when they’re in trouble. You feel it’s your job to (2) …….. after them when they’re having problems. But now, as your children are (3) …….. up, they often don’t want to share their problems with you. That’s perfectly normal, so don’t worry! Of course, you want to (4) …….. on well with your children, but that means you have to give them some freedom. Maybe they’ve (5) …….. out with their best friend and feel upset and angry. Maybe they’ve just (6) …….. up with the boyfriend or girlfriend they’ve been (7) …….. out with. Maybe they’ve been (8) …….. down by a friend who they trusted. Teenagers go through all these problems. If they want to talk to you about it, then that’s fine. But if they don’t, don’t force them. They’ll come to you when they’re ready.

F. Each of the words in bold is wrong. Write the correct word.

  1. Are you still in contact with any friends from university?
  2. I’m going to split up with Dan because we’ve got nothing in common.
  3. I don’t think I’d like to live by myself.
  4. Would you like to live on your own?
  5. Fiona didn’t break your MP3 player on purpose. It was an accident!
  6. Guess what! Mike and Julie are in love with each other.

G. Complete by changing the form of the word in capitals.

  1. I’m asking for your forgiveness ! FORGIVE
  2. Doug is such a liar. I never believe a word he says! LIE
  3. Be careful! I’ve just painted the walls and they’re wet. CARE
  4. Lying to your dad like that was really dishonest. HONEST
  5. My brother is disabled but that doesn’t stop him from doing lots of sport. ABLE
  6. I haven’t got the confidence to go up to a stranger at a party and introduce myself. CONFIDENT

H. Complete the words.

  1. Liz has got a really lively personality.
  2. Roger is always losing things. He’s so careless!
  3. I really admire you for your honesty.
  4. I have a lot of admiration for Linda. She’s achieved such a lot.
  5. Uncle Alan has an amazing mental ability — he can guess the number you’re thinking of.
  6. In the introduction to this book, it says that moving house is extremely stressful.
  7. Most of my relatives live in Canada so I don’t see them very often.

I. Write one word in each gap.

I’m very fond (1) of my husband, William. I’ve been married (2) with him for over sixty years. I know he cares (3) …. me now just as much as when we first met all those years ago. I’d got lost, and I asked him for directions. He was so kind (4) …. me. He offered to drive me wherever I wanted to go. It was love at first sight and since then my relationship (5) …. him has always been wonderful.
William is proud (6) …. my success as an artist, and he’s never been jealous (7) …. my fame. I really admire him (8) …. supporting me so much over the years. Every evening, we chat (9) …. each other (10) …. the day’s events. Of course, we do sometimes argue (11) …. things. All couples do. But whenever I have an argument (12) …. him, we soon start laughing and both apologise (13) …. each other (14) …. getting angry. I can’t amagine life without him!