Unit 25 | So and such, too and enough

A. Complete using so or such.

  1. The pan was so hot that I nearly dropped it!
  2. Mr Jones was such a kind man that I was sad when he moved to another town.
  3. We have so many pets that sometimes it’s really noisy!
  4. Alicia is so good at basketball that I think she could be a professional.
  5. There was such a lot of smoke that I couldn’t see.
  6. Tyrone ran so fast that no one had a chance in the race.
  7. Cherie is so popular that everyone wants to be friends with her.
  8. Would you like to have such long hair that you can sit on it?

B. If the phrase in bold is correct, put a tick. If it is wrong, write the correct phrase.

  1. Paris Hilton such famous that she gets recognised wherever she goes.
    Paris Hilton so famous that she gets recognised wherever she goes.
  2. There were so many customers in the shop that I couldn’t move!
    It’s correct
  3. The man spoke such quickly that I couldn’t understand a word he said.
    The man spoke so quickly that I couldn’t understand a word he said.
  4. I had so good marks that my dad bought me a new computer!
    I had such good marks that my dad bought me a new computer!
  5. Victoria is so old that she can remember seeing a car for the first time.
    It’s correct
  6. There was so a long queue that I don’t have time to see them all.
    There was such a long queue that I don’t have time to see them all.
  7. Big Brother was such successful that they’re making another series.
    Big Brother was so successful that they’re making another series.

C. Complete each second sentence using the word given, so that it has a similar meaning to the first sentence. Write between two and five words.

  1. I have a lot of money and I don’t know what to do with it. SUCH
    I have such a lot of money that I don’t know what to do with it.
  2. Adrian fell asleep during the film because he was very tired. SO
    Adrian was so tired that he fell asleep during the film.
  3. Today was so hot that I didn’t want to do anything. SUCH
    Today was such a hot day that I didn’t want to do anything.
  4. I didn’t have time to open all my Christmas presents because I got so many! SUCH
    I got such a lot of Christmas presents that I didn’t have time to open them all!
  5. They closed the funfair because it was very dangerous. THAT
    The funfair was so dangerous that they closed it.
  6. The food was so spicy that I couldn’t eat it. SUCH
    We had such spicy food that I couldn’t eat it.

D. Circle the correct word or phrase.

  1. This soup is too salty to eat.
  2. If you run fast enough, you might win the race.
  3. Don’t drive too fast or you might have an accident.
  4. Have we got too much / enough time or do we need more?
  5. Do you think your’e strong enough to lift this heavy chair?
  6. There are too many questions here! I can’t do all of them in five minutes!
  7. Are you warm enough? Shall I put the heating on?
  8. This tea is too hot to drink. I’ll wait for it to cool down.

E. Complete using a word from box A and a word or phrase from box B. You have to use the words in box A more than once.

A. enough • so • such • too
B. a long time • a lot of fun • beautiful • early • hard • hot • many things • sweets

  1. We were having such a lot of fun at the party that I didn’t want to come home.
  2. I put too many things in the plastic bag and it broke.
  3. We didn’t have enough sweets for everyone to have one.
  4. Nancy is so beautiful that I think I’m falling in love with her.
  5. It’s raining too hard to go out. Let’s stay in and watch TV. 
  6. When the milk is hot enough, pour it into the cup and stir with a spoon.
  7. We waited for such a long time that I thought the bus was never going to come!
  8. Stacy got to the theatre so early that there was no one there.

F. Write so, such, too or enough in each gap.

MY FIRST — AND LAST! — DAY AT WORK

I’ll never forget my first day at work. It was (1) such a disaster that I lost my job! The boss explained what I had to do, but she did it (2) so quickly that I didn’t understand. I wasn’t brave (3) put to ask her to repeat it, so I pretended I knew what to do. It wasn’t difficult at first — just putting numbers into a computer. Soon, though, I was (4) took busy that I started making more and more mistakes. I made (5) such a lot of mistakes that the other workers noticed. They tried to help me, but it was (6) stay late. In the end, I just had (7) give much to do that I gave up. I sat there and started at my computer for two hours! The boss came back and she was (8) setting shocked that she fired me immediately! My first day was also my last!

Վերացած և վերացող մասնագիտություններ

Մեզ հայտնի մասնագիտությունների պահանջը ժամանակի ընթացքում նվազում է, վերանում են մասնագիտությունները և այդ գործի մասնագետները: Կան շատ մասնագիտություններ, որոնք 5-10 տարի առաջ շատ պահանջված էին մեր երկրում՝ բարձր էին վարձատրվում, շատ էին մասնագետները, մարդիկ շատ էին օգտվում այդ ծառայությունից և այլն: Այժմ կբերեմ մեր երկրում վերացող մասնագիտությունների օրինակներ, կպատմեմ դրանց մասին ու կվերլուծեմ:

Կարծում եմ, որ մեր երկրում դժվար թե հեշտությամբ գտնենք անասնաբույժներ: Այս մասնագիտությունը ես համարում եմ վերացող, քանի որ այժմ շատ քիչ են անասնաբուժները, ավելի քիչ է մասնագետի պահանջը և քիչ է այն վարձատրվում:

Ըստ իս՝ բանաստեղծի մասնագիտությունը ևս վերացող է համարվում: 19-20 դարերում շատ տարածված մասնագիտություն էր և շատ ու շատ հայ հայտնի գրողներ ունեինք, որոնք մինչ օրս ճանաչված են ու սիրված: Սակայն, այս դարում շատ քիչ են հայ գրողները և այլևս այս մասնագիտությունը արդիական չէ:

Դռնապահի մասնագիտությունը նույնպես կարևոր ու տարածված չէ մեր երկրում: Այն այդքան էլ հայտնի չէ որպես մասնագիտություն: Կարծում եմ, որ այն լրիվ վերացած չէ, քանի որ երևի շատերս տեսած կլինենք դռնապահներ ռեստորաններում ու հյուրանոցներում:

Այսպես, մասնագիտությունները վերանում են ժամանակի ընթացքում, քանի որ գալիս է մի պահ, երբ մարդիկ այլևս այդ ծառայության պահանջը չեն զգում ու չեն օգտվում ծառայությունից: